PDA

View Full Version : starting a web design business - any tips?

diane
3-16-11, 1:58pm
Hi, all...

I'm easing my way out of the rat race, into freelancing and working from home. I've done some website design (gratis) for non-profits and for myself over the past couple years. I really enjoy the creative aspects of it, and it feels great when people are happy with my work. I'm thinking about doing this for pay. Do you have any pointers for me? Any pitfalls to avoid or things I can do to make it a pleasant and rewarding experience for everyone involved? Suggestions for how to get customers?

Thanks!

puglogic
3-16-11, 6:00pm
Hi Diane, I do this for a living and started the same way. My first few clients were at a reduced rate, doing my very best-best work in order to build a portfolio and a reputation. I approached three clients specifically who I knew were extraordinarily well plugged-in to the networking circuit -- they had lots of friends and colleagues and supporters they could recommend ME to if I did a good job! :) I explained what I was doing and offered to do a lot for a little. It paid off -- I've never had to advertise in many years.

I also chose a niche for myself that I loved, so I could fully invest myself in each project and feel like part of a team (even though I was a freelancer). Again, this helped me to do my best work.....which got me rave reviews......which got me referrals.....and so on.

I would do Google searches for resources for freelance web professionals, especially in the areas of project planning, developing a good contract, dealing with difficult clients, etc. There's a ton of information out there that will help you avoid some of what I had to learn the hard way (too many things to list here, from "scope creep" to deadbeat clients who don't pay).

But mostly.....I find that if I do my work with love, do what I say I'll do WHEN I say I'll do it, and listen deeply & well to what my client needs, I can't go wrong.

Good luck!!