PDA

View Full Version : Long term food storage...is this good?

ButterflyBreath
6-2-14, 2:20am
Hi guys. Looking at food storage and found this at Costco.

http://www.costco.com/380-Total-Servings-White-Rice-42-lb.-Bucket-Emergency-Food-Storage-By-Shelf-Reliance®-THRIVE™.product.11748485.html

For all you survival experts...can you see anything wrong with this type of rice or method of storage? I am just learning about this.

Thanks

ButterflyBreath
6-2-14, 2:25am
Even better... Brown rice!
http://www.samsclub.com/sams/augason-farms-long-grain-brown-rice-pail-43-lbs/prod6230881.ip

awakenedsoul
6-2-14, 10:30am
It sounds expensive to me. You can get those types of buckets at feed stores. I buy rice in bulk and freeze it. It says the one you listed has a seven year shelf life, unopened. It might go bad if you are using it. (I think you mentioned you live alone.)
Rice is cheap. I think this is really overpriced.

happystuff
6-2-14, 4:18pm
I agree about it being expensive. 43 lbs brown rice for approx. $53.00 plus shipping? That's over $1. a pound. Couldn't open the link in the 1st post.

Blackdog Lin
6-2-14, 8:44pm
I agree with awakenedsoul: overpriced for what you can do yourself.

Now brown rice, while much more healthy, does not keep anywhere nearly as well/long as a white rice. So if you really need to store brown, you may want to pay extra for professional processing, and no matter how you put it up be very very good at rotating your stocks.

But white rice: it keeps a very long time. In March of '09 I put away many pounds of both regular long-grain and basmati rices. We sealed up 2-lb. packages in our seal-a-meal and popped an oxygen absorber into each. Stored in a plastic tote in a closet.

Come this year I decide to start using the stuff up. We can't tell the difference in this "old" rice from rice purchased yesterday at the grocery store. There is truly no difference at all. Our cheapo method of long-term storage is working exceedingly well.