PDA

View Full Version : Determining the need for a Master's

Joyous_5
3-17-11, 8:38am
Another thread on this forum spurred me to write this post.

How do you KNOW if it's the right decision to pursue a Master's degree? I completed my bachelor's in psychology several years ago and had originally intended to complete my graduate degree in counseling.

Now we have a 2-year old and I'm thinking about entering the workforce again (I've been rather unsuccessfully freelance writing for the past 3 years), either now or in the near future. While I'd like to find something part-time so I can stay home with The Boy until he enters Kindergarten, I'm not sure it will be possible financially.

I've been thinking about my long-term career options and wondering if it might be time to pursue that Master's degree. It's such a huge time and financial commitment, though, I want to be sure I make the right decision.

Suggestions? Opinions?

Rosemary
3-17-11, 8:43am
I suggest you talk with people who are doing the type of work you'd like to do in your field. I know two moms who work as counselors part-time and both find it highly rewarding (but I don't know if they have grad degrees). Speaking as a mom, a career in which you can work part-time is fabulous.

iris lily
3-17-11, 8:54am
Check, realistically and carefully, your job options. Why do you believe there are job opportunities in counseling?

Kat
3-17-11, 9:21am
I have both a bachelor's and a master's in psychology. I went for the master's because I couldn't really do anything with the bachelor's. My only options were social-work type jobs or working at rehabilitation centers (if I was lucky enough to get in, and then, I'd be on the lowest rung with no hope of advancement). I went for the master's so that I could pursue teaching at the college level (which is what I do now, and I love it).