PDA

View Full Version : Conundrum

miradoblackwarrior
7-5-15, 6:37pm
Hi, all,
I don't post very often, but I've been racking my brain. I wonder if you'll indulge me with your thoughts. I saw a 1996 Saturn SL on Craigslist. I've been looking for a while, mostly dreaming. Now, I'm a big girl, and I don't actually need a car. I've been walking to work and market for some 3 years now, begging rides when I could, and using a zipcar when I had a big shop, ached too much, or just got lazy. It isn't that I can't afford the car, but I've been feeling pretty sore lately, and I'm wondering what you all thought. It's a standard, with 88K on it. The clutch was replaced in 2012, and other repairs a couple years ago. This is Boston, home of 120+ inches of snow last year. Yes, there is good public transportation, and I can well afford it. The thing is, this car could be a dream come true, or a vast disappointing nightmare! I want a car, don't need a car, but my 60 year old body is starting to feel it!

Does anybody out there have advice, yea or nay, to help me! Or, am I going back into my hippy days and seeing shiny stars in my eyes? Please, help me out!
Susan

catherine
7-5-15, 6:44pm
Price?
Could you park it easily and cheaply?

JaneV2.0
7-5-15, 6:48pm
My advice is to follow your heart. Always.
Remember, you don't need permission or rationalizations; it's a visceral thing.

Teacher Terry
7-5-15, 6:49pm
WE have had 3 Saturns that were all very reliable & didn't require many repairs. They all went close to 200,000/miles. They were fine in snow. We are sorry they no longer make them.

rosarugosa
7-5-15, 6:59pm