PDA

View Full Version : Volunteering pros and cons

Kestra
7-20-15, 3:50pm
Tomorrow I start a new volunteer gig. I'm a little nervous as it's not my usual situation - teenagers, and lots of them. But I want to do something different with my time, that doesn't involve being on a computer, and there are a lot of elements that I am interested in at this place:
- different cultures
- homework stuff
- mentoring/education
- meeting new people and being helpful

So what volunteering has everyone else done? What did you like or dislike about it?

I've done a variety of things. I'll talk about one briefly, then maybe some others later.

Cat Shelter:
Pros:
I'm a vet tech, so I get more respect than the average volunteer, and more challenging tasks - exams, vaccines, etc.
I like cats.
People were nice.

Cons:
I'm a vet tech, so I had to walk the line, being careful not to diagnosis, or step over my knowledge level into vet territory. And I can't just go in and clean some cages and pet some cats. It ends up being like a job, as with more knowledge comes more responsibility.
I often didn't agree with how the lady ran her shelter; too crowded, etc.
Hard to commit to going there week after week.
I don't really like being told what to do.
Not getting paid for stuff I could make real money doing.

Ultralight
7-20-15, 4:05pm
I volunteered at a community garden in Phoenix, AZ. Great experience! I also volunteered at a bicycle co-op here in Columbus. That was a pretty good experience too. I learned to change an inner tube and tire.

When volunteering I basically think that I am exchanging grunt work (that I do) for knowledge that they can give me. Like I pulled a bazillion weeds at the garden so they would show me how to grow veggies and fruits.

Volunteering directly for people... I dunno... I am not that much of a people person. So I commend you!

Kestra
7-20-15, 4:38pm