PDA

View Full Version : Homeschooling Chit Chat

fidgiegirl
4-5-11, 8:31pm
I wonder if we can talk about homeschooling. I don't even have kids, but interested in the topic because I am a teacher. I wonder why people leave the public school system. I can think of a few reasons why they would: individualized, flexible instruction, going with the kids' rhythms, I'm sure so much more. But do people see drawbacks? Social issues? What about getting into upper grades or college? How do kids transition into the more formal system with homework, etc.? Do people worry that if they do not have training as a teacher they might have trouble if they run up against learning problems, or that they might miss out an important concept or idea that builds up to harder things? I actually don't have an opinion on a lot of these questions. I have an at-first-blush idea, I guess, but no real solid, well-founded opinions. So they are open questions.

I pose it here on these forums because since Stella has started homeschooling and mentioning it often on the daily frugals thread I find that I keep noticing tasks, scenarios, etc. that would be a great fit for homeschooling but not a good fit for a whole classroom of kids (from a cost standpoint, or management, etc.).

Ideas? Responses? More questions?

Rosemary
4-5-11, 8:59pm
I am not homeschooling but I'll list a few concerns I have about DD's situation in public school:
- large class sizes. 2nd grade, 30 kids.
- kids who aren't special needs or gifted seem to get short shrift - larger group sizes, less attention, fewer resources.
- many hours in school but still homework at this young age. Difficult to fit in play time on the average school day. Seems like homeschooling would be more time-efficient.
- Lunch is a rush time - 20 minutes to eat in the middle of that long day! If the school wants focused kids, why not give them proper time to eat a good meal?

On the other hand, positives: