PDA

View Full Version : Giving up on impossible dreams - Yay!

Gardenarian
10-24-15, 4:39pm
For all of my adult life I have tried to be a writer. I have written three bad novels. I wanted to write because I love to read. I love the idea of having that conversation with the reader.
But the truth is, I have no gift for fiction. I don't like writing; I like the idea of writing. The process itself is painful.
So I have decided to give up on this dream and it feels great!

I have a lot of other talents. I'm quite a good artist (pen & ink, pencil, charcoal.) I love designing landscaping and gardening. I enjoy writing song lyrics and melodies. I enjoy playing the piano, and am a passable player. And, I'm a good librarian and I actually get paid for it.

I feel like I have just freed up my life to do nothing but have fun! What a great thing :)

nswef
10-24-15, 4:46pm
It's hard to decide to not pursue something you felt was important. I'm glad you feel good about your decision. I'm thinking song lyrics are poetry...which is writing! So, you've decided to change your genre. Enjoy the time freed up. Have fun.

Zoe Girl
10-24-15, 4:49pm
can I ask what age you are? I am turning 49 next year and going through a similar process. I have half a novel and writing it was part of the end of my marriage so it always seemed important to go finish it. However I am better at sewing and crochet, and awesome in the kitchen. My biggest activity is meditation and groups related to that. So I thought about using writing to connect with that. However I am with you, maybe I am just more fascinated with the idea I wrote than the actual process of writing.

Hey I am a great after-school coordinator, we have a blast and my program is growing. I get paid for that and an opportunity to volunteer and teach mindfulness to kids.

I like the idea that you freed up energy in your life and are focusing on things that are both fun and a talent. (hope I didn't hijack)

Gardenarian
10-24-15, 5:05pm