PDA

View Full Version : Setting a Decluttering Goal in Units of Time Using Flylady's Timer Method - Jan 2016

ejchase
1-9-16, 8:33pm
Hi All,

I'm a teacher on a ten-month contract so have more time to declutter in the winter and summer when I'm often off from teaching. Since I have serious hoarder tendencies, one of many strategies I've enlisted is setting a goal of decluttering a certain number of hours over a specific time period. This year, I don't start teaching again until February 16, so I'm going to try to do 40 hours of decluttering between now and then.

I usually break up the time into 30 minute - 1 hour increments using Flylady's timer method. I don't follow her instructions exactly (I just set a timer and do what I can), but here are her instructions anyway for those who are curious:

http://www.flylady.net/d/getting-started/flying-lessons/decluttering/

Last year, I didn't actually complete my 40 hours until the fall (though I was getting rid of stuff here and there along the way anyway), but the idea of aiming for a certain number of hours really helped.

If anybody else wants to set a goal in time for this week, this month, or this year, please join in! In any case, I'll be reporting back on my progress here - planning to start my first hour NOW.

ejchase
1-9-16, 11:03pm
First hour is done!

leslieann
1-13-16, 11:34am
Congrats, ejchase! I have used this method before...I loved flylady and her precursors, the Side Tracked Home Executives. Before the internet (eek! imagine) I used their tickler file system to manage household tasks and, though I would never have believed it, they have actually become second nature. Well, not washing walls or baseboards, but the beds are made, the sink is clean, and we always have food, clean clothing and toilet paper. This was not the case for me in my youth! Anyway, flylady works and I like the psychology behind her system.

ejchase
1-15-16, 2:27pm
Thanks, leslieann, for the encouragement.