PDA

View Full Version : having a tough time with functional resume!

frugalone
4-12-11, 7:02pm
Hello, folks,
I am struggling with creating a functional resume. I think the biggest problem is a lack of confidence, and being somewhat depressed after being out of work 2 yrs now.

I am a writer by trade, which makes this somewhat embarrassing (having trouble writing a simple resume). Since I can't find work in my field (journalism/PR) I am going to apply to a local architectural firm that is seeking a secretary/receptionist/office assistant. Fifteen yrs ago I worked as a legal secretary (from age 18 to about 30) and have been out of the clerical field ever since. In the meantime I graduated summa cum laude with a BA in English, worked as a reporter and as a college public relations professional.

Because I am overqualified, I am trying to downplay the fact by doing a functional rather than a chronological resume. Every time I try to work on the darn thing, I end up distressed, sometimes to the point of tears.

I know I can do the job. It's just applying for it (and interviewing) that is so difficult. I haven't even started on the cover letter!

any advice? Thank you for listening to me.

redfox
4-12-11, 7:10pm
Look up a model on the 'net, and mimic it. That will get you started. For the cover letter, start by writing as if you're writing to a long time friend about why you want this job, and what you think you'd contribute.

frugalone
4-12-11, 7:16pm
I've been doing that, looking up samples on the net. It's been helpful; thank you.
I think the "contribute" part is mostly the problem. I have so little self-confidence that I don't feel I have much to contribute anywhere. The problems are deeper than just writing the letter, I'm afraid...

treehugger
4-12-11, 7:21pm