PDA

View Full Version : Hello Fellows!

Zoebird
4-27-11, 8:32am
HI everyone!

I found this place through the miss miminalist blog, which I discovered via my friend Tradd. :) Sweet.

A bit about me.

I was really blessed to move to NZ last year from PA, USA. We basically got rid of everything except for 8 bags of stuff (which we brought with us) plus the 25 boxes that we wanted to ship (kitchen supplies, our favorite books, and just other things we couldnt' part with). I bet when those boxes arrive, we'll probably be able to declutter down to even less!

We came to NZ to run our own business -- i'm a yoga teacher and we run a holistic health center. DH is a writer, and working on getting into film work here. It's awesome.

We have lived in a 1 bedroom apartment -- DH, our 2.5 yr old son and myself -- for the last year and a bit, and we love it. We bought a bed and dresser when we moved here, the basics for our kitchen, and little else. We were gifted: a wardrobe for our coats in the entry way; a bench which we use in the kitchen; a bean bag, and a foam mattress which we use in our living room when we want a comfy seat.

Every day, we picnic all of our meals on the floor of our kitchen or lounge. I think our next thing will be a table.

We are looking to move into a place with a little yard, and 3 bedrooms. DH is a bit less minimal and more messy than I am, and as a writer, he really needs his own office space. I've tried combining it, and we make each other crazy.

He needs his altar of inspirational trinkets; it looks like trash to me! He loves his piles of papers; I'm a definite and dedicated purger and filer. So, one room will be his office -- for him to keep as messy and piled up as he wants.

The second bedroom will be for DS when he is ready for it. That may be a few years yet, but who knows!

And of course, the third bedroom for DH and I.