PDA

View Full Version : May Rants

JaneV2.0
5-2-11, 1:58pm
At the moment, I have a gang of workers outside my window going at it with industrial strength weed whackers and blowers to obliterate a few inches of grass on the verge of the road.They've been at it an hour. The city, unaccountably, sends sweepers around all the time--you can hear them for blocks--to blast away at perfectly clean streets. Apparently, our little hamlet is awash in extra revenue for this kind of thing...Sometimes I fantasize about buying a high-rise condo with soundproof windows.

Lower frequency noise has a nasty physiological effect on me, especially at high levels. I can literally feel it in my heart. I hate to think what it does to people who work around it all day.

redfox
5-2-11, 2:30pm
Rain. More rain. Then more rain... <sigh> 3 months of November and 3 more of March is just too darn much, even for Seattle...

fidgiegirl
5-5-11, 9:17am
It is 5 de mayo. I'm a Spanish teacher. I am going to
have to hear about 5 de mayo all day. It's already making me crabby. That sounds so mean, but it is.

catherine
5-5-11, 10:00am
My BIL is 48...lived with his mother his whole life... she passed away last summer and we thought this would be his ticket to freedom--but no, now his excuse is he can't leave his DOG! We were invited to visit some relatives of his/DH for their 65th wedding anniversary--it will probably be his LAST chance to see them alive, and his first reaction was "OH, I DEFINITELY have to go--after all they've done for me!"

He just stopped by to say he reconsidered and he's not going--he says it's finances, but I think it's that and he doesn't want to leave the DOG--even though we said one of our kids would come for the weekend and watch both his dog and our dog.