PDA

View Full Version : Combatting Gossip

DarkStar
5-2-11, 7:39pm
We had a thread on Right Speech in the Spirituality forum a while back, and my question relates to that a little.

I need some advice on how to combat gossip. I don't mean just random idle chatter from people - that never stops. I mean deliberate falsehoods being spread maliciously about you. This is in a school setting (I'm a student.). There are a lot of people here whose opinions I could care less for, but this particular gossip has caused a problem in a personal relationship of mine. Also, the people who are making up and spreading the gossip caused problems for my friend previous to this by going to some people in authority with what were basically lies and deliberate misinterpretations of facts.

I know this sounds very vague. I don't want to give too many details since this the Internet, after all, and this stuff can be Googled. I can't even prove that there is gossip being spread, but by the reactions of my friend and some people close to him, I'm sure that there is and I'm pretty sure I know the nature of the gossip.

I'm already taking the high road here. I'm just living my life the way I always do, and nothing I've said or done can be misconstrued to lead to this gossip. But beyond that, any suggestions for things I can do? Or even effective ways to find out if there is in fact gossip, and what it is? Because once it was out in the open, it would be much easier to deal with.

Fawn
5-2-11, 9:25pm
Since you think you know who started it and what has been said, go to that person and say, " I have heard you said such and such about me, but I was certain that isn't true because I know you to be a kind and open-minded person. Do you have any idea how this rumor got started?" The way they react will likely let you know how to proceed.

DarkStar
5-2-11, 10:00pm