PDA

View Full Version : Planning a vacation

Tiam
5-9-11, 1:13am
I've never really traveled. I have no real experience with it, nor the budget to support it. But the thing is, I may have an opportunity to actually have some unexpected money. I talked to my daughter about going somewhere. I'd like to visit the UK. Now, my question is: I've never traveled. I don't even have a passport, so of course that would be step one, but how would one go about planning such a trip and do it wisely? Should I just hire a travel agent and trust them? Try and plan it out on my own for cheap rooms and hostels? I haven't the faintest idea how to go about it. I only know I would have limited funds to accomplish much and would want to stretch funds while at the same time maintaining some comfort. Where do I start??:help:

IshbelRobertson
5-9-11, 5:30am
Fisrt of all, how exciting for you!

As you said, the first thing is to get a passport! I don't know how quickly that can be accomplished in other countries, but I recently had to renew my passport (here in the UK) and it took only 5 days to be returned - but that was a renewal, not a start-from-scratch process.

Decide on the time of year you wish to travel to the UK (if that's where you finally decide to visit!) - the weather would make quite a difference, and some attractions (including some stately homes and castles) are only opened for a specific portion of the year.

Then make a wish list of where you want to visit. When you've done that, you can start to look at the logistics of HOW you plan the trip to maximise both time and money available!

If you would like specific info on sites of interest you might be visiting, I'd be happy to give you any help I can!

Rosemary
5-9-11, 8:20am