PDA

View Full Version : Rice dishes that are good cold/room temperature

Amaranth
5-9-11, 4:05pm
What rice dishes are good straight from the fridge when you don't have facilities for heating them back up? Would welcome ideas for brown rice or white rice. Or if you know of dishes made with other grains that you think might be good made with rice, I could experiment with adapting them.

So far I've thought of

Rice:
sushi made with cucumbers or carrot centers and/or cooked fish

Other grains:
An adaptation of tabouleh (any thoughts about how to adapt this?)

bae
5-9-11, 4:11pm
There's the whole family of oshizushi (pressed sushi), which when made with durable ingredients make fun things for kids' lunchboxes. The sky is the limit on shape and decoration.

iris lily
5-9-11, 8:42pm
I make a good rice dish with:

corn, black beans, green onions chopped, and a dressing of avacado and sour cream--it's all just mixed together.

AmeliaJane
5-10-11, 12:26am
Since I am not very good with dainty things like sushi, I like the variation of sushi bowls (where you basically pile all the ingredients in a bowl.) I also like rice salads--you can do pretty much like a pasta salad-- I have had them with creamy or vinaigrette dressings. I do have to let rice come up to room temperature though; I don't like it right out of the fridge...

iris lily
5-10-11, 12:31am
Since I am not very good with dainty things like sushi, I like the variation of sushi bowls (where you basically pile all the ingredients in a bowl.) I also like rice salads--you can do pretty much like a pasta salad-- I have had them with creamy or vinaigrette dressings. I do have to let rice come up to room temperature though; I don't like it right out of the fridge...

Agreed, room temp is good, cold not so good.

peggy
5-10-11, 10:03am
Your salad sounds good Iris. I vote for rice pudding! Actually makes quite a good breakfast since it has eggs, milk, rice and not too much sugar.

dovergirl
5-10-11, 11:14am