PDA

View Full Version : Territorial Coworker and General Advancement Issues (LONG)

jennipurrr
5-19-11, 5:38pm
I've worked in my current position at this employer (reporting, data management, project management, etc) for about 6 years. My background is in IT and it is a fairly soft IT position. The work is fine with me but I really would like to get to a place where I work more with people and less with data, but I love the work environment and the people I work with. Plus, I am pretty good at this job so day to day there is not an enormous amount of pressure. The downside, is basically that with this job I will stay in this cubby (ok, its actually a large office with a fabulous view) forever and I will be doing the same reporting stuff in May of 2031 that I am doing this month. I'd like to eventually progress somehow career wise.

So, about 5 years ago I decided to pursue a Masters degree in an unrelated field, Counseling. At this time I was adamant that I hated data and wanted to work entirely with people...ehh, at this point I have decided that the lifestyle changes (which amount to about a 50% pay cut and a 50% work increase) are not worth it to me to work in Mental Health. My classes were free and I finished the degree having learned a lot and generally happy with my choice there and I graduated in Dec 2010.