PDA

View Full Version : So What is it worth?

boss mare
5-22-11, 2:42pm
I hope that I am posting this in the right section...
What would be the going rate of hiring some kid to do some farm projects around my place... post hole digging, lawn mowing, weed wacking etc... about 3 days worth of projects
I live in a very ecomoncally depressed area and I e-mail my cousins son who is young ( late teens/early 20's) is married, does not have a job, has one kid and another on the way and I have not heard back from him I have heard through the family grapevine that he got the e-mail and his comment was the he would not even get out of bed for less than 20.00 per hour.. mininmum wage here is 8.68 per hour before taxes
I offered him 10.00 per hour plus transportation and meals.. I am off base...? I don't think I am as I work in the dental field for 20.00 per hour

loosechickens
5-22-11, 3:02pm
When folks around here need work done, (in southern CA at the moment), the going rate for the several people here in the park who offer their services seems to be $15 per hour, and no meals or transportation are included, so your offer doesn't sound out of line.

If this guy is married, has no job, has a child and another one coming and is turning up his nose and saying things like he "wouldn't get out of bed for less than $20 per hour", exactly how hard of a worker do you suppose he is? It may be a great blessing that he doesn't seem willing to "lower himself" to your job. I'd look elsewhere.

And if you are offering transportation and meals, I don't think $10 per hour is all that bad. And since you're looking for someone for just a few projects, temporarily, I am assuming that would be cash as well.