PDA

View Full Version : Finished my Master's Degree!

Reyes
6-9-11, 4:31pm
I am officially done with my M.S. degree! I'm am thrilled to be done, and even more thrilled that I made it through the two year program without paying a dime:-) I worked as an undergraduate instructor for the two years which payed my tuition, a stipend, and amazing health insurance. In addition, I took applying for grants and scholarships as a full-time job and raised about 40k over the two years. Between my tuition being paid, and the monthly striped, great health insurance for my family, and the 40k in scholarships, I had a great gig going:-)

I am very satisfied with my area of focus (Conflict & Dispute Resolution). I have been working part-time as a court-connected family mediator and am applying for a full-time position that recently opened. In addition, I will be teaching a graduate/undergraduate course at the University next academic year.

After six years of school (four for undergrad and then two for grad) I am so glad to be done:-) Just the thought that I will not have to write another academic paper puts a smile on my face:-)

kally
6-9-11, 4:52pm
Congratulations. Aren't you clever.

fidgiegirl
6-9-11, 6:38pm
Reyes, AWESOME! It is such a good feeling to be done. I did an M.Ed. and it took me one year full time and two years part time and it was really a haul. Well done!!!!!!!

redfox
6-9-11, 9:07pm
Woo-hoo! Congrats.

razz
6-9-11, 9:19pm
That is amazing so congratulations for the success in more ways than one.

jennipurrr
6-9-11, 10:57pm
Congrats!!! I did my Masters slowly so that I could take advantage of my employers tuition assistance, and boy does it feel good to have it without the burden of debt or costs. That you did it so quickly is an amazing accomplishment! It sounds like a field you really enjoy too :)

iris lily
6-10-11, 12:28am
That is excellent! I had a glass of wine tonight to celebrate that!

chrisgermany
6-10-11, 3:36am
Congratulations!