PDA

View Full Version : dealing wtih two-faced staff

Zoe Girl
6-16-11, 9:57am
So I was sooo looking forward to summer camp, I still am having fun with a lot of it and want to deal with issues so that it can be more fun for all of us (the kids are having a blast and that is most important).

I have 12 staff plus subs, 2 shifts during the day and 'theme team' that comes in and does our activities on a rotating schedule over the summer. For morning and afternoon I have a lead teacher (LT) each shift. On field trip days we all work pretty much the whole field trip and we have to juggle a bus that takes 2 trips to get us toand from the field trip. There are some glitches and the morning needs to get ready faster so I am working on changes (like not put any of the chronic late kids on the 1st bus)

In any case the morning LT has been sweet to my face, she told me the other day that I was doing a great job. This is my first year doing summer camp so I ask a lot of questions about what has been done before (and get 14 answers lol). Then I decide on one thing and we do that. I changed one thing about checking in kids in the morning, I was having the LT do it but I get called over 6-7 times for a parent who needs me specifically so I decided to do it myself. Other things I make sure I am checking up on, like asking the LT who is scheduled to do a specific task.

After the morning the other day I found out that my morning LT called my supervisor and had her come over to tell her I was on a 'power trip'. I came back to the school when I found out that my supervisor was there and found out what she was told. So now I need to talk to my LT about this, including going over my head and saying that when pretty much anything they have needed since the first day of camp I have gotten for them within 24 hours. That is me being in charge, things get done well. And my supervisor thinks LT is just having a hard time not being in charge of everything.