PDA

View Full Version : Time to buy that second home?

dmc
6-17-11, 2:35pm
With all the doom and gloom on the horizon, I'm thinking it may be time for that vacation home. Any guess on how much more home values can fall in warm winter places. I'm thinking Florida, Arizona, Texas, or Vegas. Or any other place to get away from the cold winters we have been having. I would do the snowbird thing, probably November to March or April.

Any suggestions?

Zippy
7-12-11, 2:42pm
A second home is an energy drain and a financial drain. Just add what your utilities would be plus your property taxes and rent a fully-furnished nice place in the area you prefer. Or, do what many snowbirds do - take a six-month lease on an apartment.

I'm in Arizona and property values have not stabilized. They are still declining. I'd say if you MUST buy, you should wait until one year beyond when prices hit their lowest.

TVRodriguez
7-12-11, 11:40pm
I'm in South Florida, and while I'm no expert, what I see in my neighborhood tells me that interest is picking up. My neighbor just put her house on the market (for 50% of its 2006 purchase price) and there was a bit of a bidding war, with the winning bid over the asking price. There are new homes going up on lots that have been empty for years, just languishing (four in within a quarter mile), and now they're all busy with workers nearly every day. There are condos up in Boynton Beach that are going for $35,000. They sold for $178,000+ back in the early 2000's, and I personally think that they are a steal. If we were in the market for a second home, this, to me, seems like a good market. One caveat: lots of the good deals are still for foreclosures or short sales, and those can take a while and can even fall through after a long wait. So, it's not so simple. But still, if you have the patience, the spare cash (most sales prefer cash deals, since there are lots of cash buyers now) and the interest, I think the market is in your favor.

Spartana