PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of downsizing to a single wide trailer with three 3 kids

milby
8-2-11, 10:25am
I'm so tired of being stressed out about money every single day of my life. I'm new to the simple living concept but I think living without all this stuff would be so much less stressful.

Anyway here is my situation. I won't go into all the details but we filed bankruptcy four years ago and have been living in a nice rental house ever since. It is in a great neighborhood with a community pool that the kids love and everything, bla, bla, bla, but the rent and utilities is killing me.

I am seriously thinking about saying to heck with it and moving to a single wide trailer. If I did this I think it would be about $500 a month cheaper. Plus I would be able to pay it off in a few years and actually be debt free. Plus we would have to get rid of a LOT of our stuff that is just being stored in the garage anyway.

The only thing I'm worried about is the kids. We have three that are nearing their teenage years and I don't know how this would effect them.

Has anyone on here been in this situation and could give me some advice.

sweetana3
8-2-11, 10:46am
More important is where the trailer is located and the stability of the neighborhood and park (if a trailer park). If your kids are established in school and the neighborhood is good and they have friends and activities, I would wonder about the wisdom of a move. It is usually cheaper for a good reason. Are you jumping from one situation to another as far as stress goes? I have lived in a nice trailer park and they are out there so I wont bash trailer parks. However, there are just as many crummy and even dangerous ones (much like crummy and dangerous neighborhoods).

You can still get rid of stuff. Moving is not the only reason out there for cleaning out excess stuff. Clean out the garage is a good first step.