PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here ever done a complete career change?

Gizmo
8-2-11, 6:17pm
I'm currently an Accountant, a CPA... but its just so BORING! I started out as a Cost Accountant, and then moved on to be a Financial Analyst. Still bored, I started doing Special Projects and implementations - worked for a while but after the project got off the ground and went into maintenance stage I was bored again (I wasn't given any new projects, just expected to maintain). I've now moved on to trying temp work - still bored. The last temp position I had was 6 months - *I* finally had to tell them I was leaving, as they kept extending my contract (again, bored). Same thing is happening at my current temp job - it was fine at first, but now I'm bored again but they keep extending my contract.

I'd like to do a complete career change, but I'm not sure what else I'm good enough at to make money. I like to do artwork - but I don't think I'm good enough at it to make a living. I really can't afford to go back to school either.

What can I change so I don't keep getting stuck in this 'bored' rut at every job I've been at?

sweetana3
8-2-11, 6:42pm
I would suggest a course in career counseling to find out what careers are a best fit for your personality. It helped a friend's husband who was retired from an IT position to find out he was best working with children as in teaching. He now works at the Children's Museum in our city. Another found out that lab work was boring and repetitive and career counseling led her to epidemiology. So she is now in grad school, while working, and planning on a new career.

SoSimple
8-2-11, 9:05pm