PDA

View Full Version : How to live a long life

JaneV2.0
8-3-11, 1:51pm
http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/43992058/ns/health-aging/#.TjmI_IIUw3h

Even though I'm a veteran vitamin-popper and generally careful eater, this kind of article always does my contrarian heart good. I've been reading about healthy centenarians for years (and especially Barzilai's studies), and this report sums it up nicely:

"The living, old people in the study were remarkably ordinary in their lifestyles, Barzilai said. By and large, they weren't vegetarians, vitamin-pill-poppers or health freaks. Their profiles nearly matched that of the control group in terms of the percentage who were overweight, exercised (or didn't exercise), or smoked. One woman, at age 107, smoked for over 90 years."

Mrs-M
8-4-11, 12:29am
Love it! Thanks for this Jane. One thing I'm a firm believer in is the afternoon nap. I really do think it does a body good.

ctg492
8-4-11, 5:48am
I truly love the articles on the 100 year old group. I try to live a healthy life style and hope the cards are in my favor, my health lasts and {{{money}}}. I only wish I had started at 20. I look forward to seeing the world and how things have changed hopefully for the better. The new improvements or realization that things had to change for the better. I look back at just technology improvements since 1980 and am amazed. My Uncle passed away at 99 and one of his last pictures was him learning the computer. Uncle used to say that everyone his age was his friend, because by the time you go that old you had all been through the same things in life.
I see so so many over weight people, unhealthy looking people, if not just for today but for their future and long life, I wonder Don't they think about reaching 100 or even 70?

Suzanne
8-4-11, 11:23am