PDA

View Full Version : Yoga advice please.

razz
8-10-11, 8:39pm
I need to get some exercise that flexes my joints that I can do daily in addition to the twice daily walks with the dog at a mile each time. I have considered yoga but the videos that I tried a number of years ago did nothing to inspire me.

Do you do yoga regularly? How did you get started? is there a program of moves that will give one a general toning if done daily?
What should I look for in an instructor or studio?

Any advice or suggestions appreciated.

Gardenarian
8-10-11, 9:37pm
Hi there,
I also do a lot of dog walking! I started doing yoga when I was a gymnast in high school. I got a book out of the library, and I have been practicing for over 30 years now. What I look for in a yoga class is convenience! I have been to places that have great teachers, but if I have to drive through traffic there and back to go to the class, it is not a good experience for me. Luckily, there is an excellent yoga teacher in my town. You might want to read up about the different styles of yoga a little bit. I prefer a more traditional, spiritual yoga myself, and find that teachers with a background in the Integral or Sivananda style suit me best. There is also a yoga video that I checked out from the library called Wai Lana Yoga that I quite liked (although it was stretching, it is unlike any yoga I have ever seen.) If I were you I would take a bunch of classes and see what works.

Here is a link to the Sivananda site that describes a basic program for beginning yoga: http://www.sivananda.eu/en/yoga-postures/exercises-for-beginners.html

I got out of the habit of doing yoga everyday for a couple of months, and it is remarkable the difference it made in how I feel. All my joints ached, I kept throwing my back out, I had headaches, and I felt bloated and tired. Yoga really works!

Perplexa
8-10-11, 11:05pm