PDA

View Full Version : Holy School Supplies, Batman!

fidgiegirl
8-10-11, 11:06pm
I picked up a slip at the mall to fill a backpack for an 8th grade boy. HOLY BUCKETS!!! I had no idea what school supplies add up to cost. That's embarrassing that as a teacher I really did not have a clue of what those supply lists add up to - and his was modest compared to my school's, really. Backpack, notebooks, pencils, folders, calculator. It came to $60! I am happy I was able to do it, and we can afford it, but my eyes are opened. If people buy all that new for every kid every year, no wonder it's an intimidating expense. And no part of it was even clothes!

And it was interesting how I felt I needed to put in some "fancy" school supplies for him (and did). He likes baseball, they said, so I got a few baseball notebooks for more money. Or I got not only plain wooden pencils but also some mechanical ones. But then I thought, well, why do I feel that way? Do I have pity because his family can't afford his school supplies? Did I want him to have some little treat in there to find other than just plain yellow pencils? Why did I feel he needed more than the basics? I didn't do anything wrong, but it's interesting to think about why I felt I should pop more than the basics into his bag.

I felt bad for the parents shopping. They were all calm, but the kids were clearly enamored with the newness of everything. One mom was telling her daughter they can talk about a new lunch box, but not in the store. They had to go home and look at her existing lunch box before making a decision. The daughter was nice about it, no fits or begging, but I would think all that negotiation would be exhausting.

Rosemary
8-11-11, 12:10am