PDA

View Full Version : a question for e-book readers

HappyHiker
8-14-11, 5:33pm
Hope it's okay to ask this here..I could use your help and advice.

You see, I'm soon to publish my first book, a novel three years in the writing, with a timely twist, as an e-book...I'm relatively new to Kindle, but my experience so far has been the quality of the $.99 books has not been quite as wonderful as I'd hoped.

And I've downloaded some of the classics for free..free is good!

But to price my own e-book is challenging. The caliber of the book is, I hope, a cut above the $.99 books, yet surely no one is to be expected to buy a book by an unknown if the price is the same as the NYT's best-selling list. I wouldn't do that myself.

I'm thinking of pricing the book at $4.99. Would you take a chance at that price? Would you buy a Kindle or other e-book from an author you're unfamiliar with if the topic intrigued you for $4.99...? And what might lead you to make the purchase? Great reviews? A cool web site, the topic itself? Other?

The writing and research were my favorite parts, but soon to come is the marketing, where the rubber meets the road...help!!

Thanks so much, your advice/observations are hugely appreciated.

cdttmm
8-14-11, 6:00pm
Hi HappyHiker, I'm not sure I have much input on the pricing, but I wanted to say CONGRATULATIONS on completing your first novel - fantastic accomplishment!

So far I have only ever downloaded free e-books because I've only had my iPhone to read them, which is not that easy. But I just got an iPad and if I get into downloading books, I think I would spend $4.99 for a book that was an intriguing topic.

Tradd
8-14-11, 8:10pm
You might want to email/message Miss Minimalist. She published a book and then formatted it for Kindle herself. She could probably give you some ideas.

Lainey
8-14-11, 8:52pm