PDA

View Full Version : Question for Librarians-what skills would you look for in a circulation desk employee

seekingsimplicity
8-15-11, 6:59pm
I have been raising my family for the last 20 years and have been out of the workforce but would LOVE to work at the circulation desk at the local library.

I served 5 years on the Board of Trustees at the library about 8 years ago and know the librarian personally. I have submitted my application before and interviewed but did not get the job. (this was about 5 years ago).

Now I want to apply again and would like to know what skills to highlight on the app and in the interview.

thank you!

Merski
8-15-11, 8:55pm
Computer skills, customer service skills, this job is pretty much detail oriented, flexible hours. If you don't get the job, try to volunteer there and learn some of the jobs firsthand and that will also give you the skill base to apply. I work in a library and there are many different kinds of circulation programs to work with, including winnebago and millenium. You need to pay close attention when you are checking things in to see if holds are placed on these items for other patrons or if someone has a message on their patron record or even a fine. I've been doing this work for 17 years and have loved this kind of work. Hope this helps!

Miss Cellane
8-16-11, 8:54am
I used to supervise work-study students at the circulation desk of a university library. What I looked for was people who would show up on time and be dependable. Who were detail oriented, as we had very specific procedures. Who could learn the computer software we used. Who were good with people, as the circ desk did holds and recalls and, because of where we were located, were the only desk most people could find to ask a question, any question, about the library. And our students had to help people get library cards and be able to explain the borrowing rules.