PDA

View Full Version : 5 Star Whole Wheat Bread Recipe rated by over 900 people

frugal-one
8-18-11, 4:10pm
Today I made the following recipe. It turned out good and was fairly easy. I made 2 loaves of bread and the other loaf I made into hamburger buns. Thought I would share:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/simple-whole-wheat-bread/detail.aspx

treehugger
8-18-11, 4:26pm
I have been looking for the "perfect" (to me) whole wheat sandwich bread recipe. Thanks for posting this, but it was way too much honey and too little whole wheat flour in it for my taste.

Right now, I am working may way through the 100% whole wheat recipes at King Arthur Flour's website. One down and four more to try. The first effort tasted really good and had a nice crumb, but it's too delicate for sandwiches.

I am fairly new to yeast baking, by the way, and I am really enjoying the learning process.

Kara

frugal-one
8-18-11, 9:48pm
treehugger... check out the responses from the people who posted. They modified it to include less honey and more/and sometimes all wheat flour. I made it the way it was written today but plan on using maple syrup (which I have lots of) next time. I will modify to use less sweetner as I get better and know how to make bread. I thought this was a great first bread recipe to attempt!

crunchycon
8-19-11, 6:07am
I use a fairly similar ww bread recipe (I'll try this one - always looking!). I use about a scant 1/4 c of honey rather than 1/3 cup and add 1/4 of wheat germ for a little extra nutrition.

Thanks for sharing the link!

treehugger
8-19-11, 11:42am
treehugger... check out the responses from the people who posted.