PDA

View Full Version : getting rid of TV?

lucas
11-24-11, 3:31pm
Hi there everyone!

It's Lucas here, in Spain... I've been pondering getting rid of my television altogether, or at the very least minimising its 'presence' in my life... the only problem is I live with my partner, who has two little boys, and I can't very well expect them to give up their favourite cartoons! Has anyone else had any experience of quitting TV whilst still living with TV-lovers? One compromise I'd though of was putting the 'idiot box' in another room, where it's not there staring at me all the time... If anyone else has any experience with this little conundrum, or any pointers, I'd lover to hear from you! I'm a relative novice to the simplicity journey.... thank you friends!

Hugs,
Lucas

puglogic
11-24-11, 4:47pm
What a good idea! Well, perhaps not getting rid of it entirely if it would damage your relationship, but I would strongly, strongly suggest putting the TV in a place where you do not have to see it/hear it if you do not want to.

This has helped us stay together as partners. I do not want much to do with the thing; it irritates me and interrupts my peace of mind. He likes to watch soccer and the occasional program (perhaps 4 hours total per week). So we have the TV in a room away from the main living area where I can be free of it. What a huge difference that makes for me!

When did it get to the point where we (as humans) had to have a television right in the middle of our lives at all times? Or a TV in multiple rooms of the house? Or leave the stupid thing turned on all day long? I am not a fan of television and I don't think it's required for happiness.

Good for you Lucas! :)

ctg492
11-24-11, 6:22pm