PDA

View Full Version : Extra-early Holiday Decorating?

jania
12-4-11, 10:19am
The day after Thanksgiving I started to notice my neighborhood was already displaying outdoor holiday lights, and even seeing Christmas trees in the windows. This seems so early to me. I'm thinking either they want to keep up with the retailers or they are feeling so down about the economy they want a little "lift" in their life.

Has anyone else noticed this trend?

Stella
12-4-11, 10:30am
The weekend after Thanksgiving has always been when my family put up the tree. It was the time we were all home to get it done since we were off for the long weekend.

Miss Cellane
12-4-11, 10:45am
I've been noticing this trend for the last 15-20 years.

Back when I was a kid, in the 1960s, most of the people we knew started decorating maybe two weeks before Christmas. My parents put up the tree on Christmas Eve, and took it down on Epiphany.

But as more people do more elaborate decorations--not a lot of people did outside lights and stuff when I was a kid--they want to get their full value out of the decorations. And in colder areas, waiting until mid-December means that it is too cold to set up a lot of the outside lights and things--the ground is frozen, it's too cold to go without gloves, etc.

Also, I think the growing trend towards artificial trees has something to do with it. With a real tree, most people wouldn't want them up in the house for a month--the needles would drop and make a mess. But with a fake tree, that's not an issue and you can have the tree up as long as you want. Some people do have live trees up for the whole month of December--I'm glad I'm not vacuuming their floors!

The flip side of this trend is that while taking a walk around my neighborhood on the evening of Christmas Day last year, I saw about 5 trees already hauled out to the curb. It was kind of sad, as if they couldn't wait to have Christmas over with.

libby
12-4-11, 11:21am