PDA

View Full Version : Creative householder tips

redfox
12-8-11, 9:27pm
http://www.thedailybuzz.com.au/2011/11/25-clever-ideas_household-tips_storage-ideas

Tiam
12-8-11, 9:33pm
Cool! I got quite a few good ones off that. Thanks!

kally
12-8-11, 9:41pm
wow the gutter garden was cool

fidgiegirl
12-8-11, 10:39pm
I love the strawberry tip and the linen closet tip. Also the lettuce gardens!

Oh! And we do the popcorn thing - regularly! DELICIOUS.

danna
12-8-11, 11:05pm
great creative ideas....

redfox
12-8-11, 11:41pm
I am personally in love with the folded linens in the pillowcase.... Next cleanout, this is happenin!

happystuff
12-9-11, 6:47am
Love the gutter garden idea, as well as the linens.

I've been doing the egg carton storage for many years now. The 18 count cartons are perfect for our ornaments.

rosarugosa
12-10-11, 6:27am
I'm eager to try the walnut tip, and storing the plastic bags in a wet wipes container. Thanks for sharing, Redfox!

Float On
12-10-11, 11:07am
Great list and good photos too!
My 15 year old thinks we should try the cake in cones or the cookies over the muffin tins first (he said he's really hungry this morning).
I liked the straw for berries trick (the 15 year old pointed out it was a good pun "get it mom....straw...berries" - he is too funny this morning).
I think they ironed that fitted sheet!!!
Fidgiegirl - how do you keep the bag closed? I've heard some people say that they go ahead and add one staple. I've always wanted to try that, do you add anything to the bag like a tiny bit of coconut oil?
I always thought the raingutter gardens were cool - saw a spread on that in a gardening magazine a few years back.
Liked the tension rod for spray bottles. And I think I even have a couple of tension rods in the back of my laundry room closet.
Hanging the wrap on the ceiling of the closet is a good idea too, but being short I'd have to drag a chair or call for help. I only keep 1-2 rolls of wrap anyway (silver -it works for everything).