PDA

View Full Version : Commercials For Religions ???

heydude
12-30-11, 12:27am
So, the Morman Church has been having more and more ads.

"I'm a firefighter, a mother, and I'm a morman"

now, the catholic church is featuring commercials on TV as well. "we wrote the bible, come home."

there is something unsettling about religion advertising itself?

is it that bad off?

if someone is going to choose religion, are they going to do it from a commercial?

the commercial doesn't even talk about what they believe in, what makes them different from the million other religions.

i think it is creepy.

has consumerism overtaken religion as well? ugh.

happystuff
12-30-11, 6:55am
I've seen those commercials - lol. I find it humorous that the religion commercials are the same as any other advertisements in the "claims" they make/"facts" they state. >8)

Anne Lee
12-30-11, 7:17am
I've noticed the commercials tend to be more PR than marketing. While most people on this board are disaffected from TV and commercials, most people who watch TV are not. Otherwise, commercials wouldn't work. I don't think there is anything wrong with necessarily since faith communities do have a message to convey and television is one way to do it.

Bronxboy
12-31-11, 10:43am
Mormons have used TV commercials for a long time, 15 years or more. I suspect they are looking to improve their overall acceptance in society as much as they are looking for converts.

The Catholic Church is quite new to it, having recognized that former Catholics are the second largest denomination in America. I'll save my opinions on that for another post.

CathyA
12-31-11, 11:06am
I thought they had to do with Romney's run for the presidency.

JaneV2.0
12-31-11, 2:26pm
I'm sure I'm still on the rolls of the Catholic church, making me part of the CINO denomination of which Bronxboy speaks. I could go off on a rant about organized religion--I feel one coming on--but for the good of the order, I'll stifle myself.

Tweety