PDA

View Full Version : Unanswered prayers

Molly
1-3-12, 3:39pm
2011 had been a horrible year for me. My hamstring tendon tore from my sit bone when I was running. Two days later I had emergency surgery for a detached retina. Within a few months I had a cervical herniated disk, followed by surgery for skin cancer. I am 58 years old.

The hamstring injury was the worst, and I am still dealing with it. It is extremely painful to sit, and I am just beginning to be able to walk without a limp. It's been 10 months and no end in sight.

I had to retire a few months ago because I could not do my job, which required sitting at a computer. My employer was very kind and gave me a standing computer, but my legs and back ached from standing. I ended up having to kneel at my desk until my knees gave out.

I am still wracked with pain from the cervical disk problem, chronic back problems and the tendonitis. I can't take anything stronger than ibuprophen because of the side effects. I am going through physical therapy and just want to get better, but it's not happening.

My medical bills have been astronomical and there is still no end in sight. I am broke and broken in spirit.

I have been praying ceaslessly for healing but feel I am being ignored. I no longer feel God's presence. In fact, I feel like he despises me. I know there are others who have it much worse, yet I cannot shake the feeling that I have been abandoned.

I have led what I thought was a good, moral life. I have taken care of myself - plenty of excercise, good nutrition. I do not understand.

I have talked with my pastor, have been on prayer lists at church - nothing. I express gratitude for my blessings - still nothing.

I have pretty much been alone all these months because I cannot do anything that requires sitting. No dinners out, no movies, no travelling.

I am desparate - do prayers really work or am I wasting my time.

Any help please?

Juicifer
1-3-12, 4:40pm