PDA

View Full Version : How can you best lobby for something in city politics....

kally
3-8-12, 2:34pm
I have written how this new library is dividing our community. Some want it, some don't. If you were to put together a campaign to influence those who have not decided on what they think about the issue what would you do?

What steps would you take?
How would you organize a campaign?

I am new at this and could use some of your great ideas. I know there are people in opposition who we will not make an effect on, but for the great undecided, how can we help educate them and hopefully influence them?

Any thoughts?

iris lily
3-8-12, 10:04pm
You cannot repeat enough times the services and products offered by the library. Again and again and again, because people do not know what they can get at the Library.

Those campaigns that put a daily price tag on the thing "only $.23 cents each day buys you access to 100,000 books, 21,000 dvds, 8,000 audiobooks, 100 Free music downloads a year...." etc

Even though I personally am always quite skeptical about those daily pricing deals, but that's just me, I think that the majority of people like them.

razz
3-9-12, 9:05am
What has worked for our group is the focus on 'the one thing that is free to every resident' in the community - then go into the services provided and watch who uses the library and how it benefits them.
I water the plants several times each month. What I found really resonated with me was the range of ages that benefit. - seniors who had a safe place to sit, read the paper and mix with people; a secure place to watch your children have story time, playtime, learn to use computers and watch suitable free movies; a safe place for those with literacy problems have their lessons; retirees who stretch their dollars by reading the magazines and daily papers; teens who meet their friends and get help with homework; the developmentally challenged who have a weekly story hour and so on.

mtnlaurel
3-9-12, 9:23am