PDA

View Full Version : Ideas on how to pay my home mortgage off early

bunnys
6-19-12, 7:45pm
Hi all:

Last year I refinanced my house and consolidated my 1st and 2nd mortgage. I got a great rate and will save over 22k over the course of the new loan. But now I have a bigger goal. I want to pay my now 19 year term loan off in 10 more years (or 12 at the maximum.)

I am a public school teacher whose student loan debt will be paid off in 8.5 years. I also run my household on only my income.

I have spent the past year pinching my pennies to make a big purchase at the end of the summer. I am almost at that point but I want to start hitting and hitting hard this mortgage in a way I can maintain as soon as I'm done with this goal.

I feel like I want to put every penny I've saved per month this year toward the mortgage but I don't know if I can sustain that kind of Spartan lifestyle indefinitely. I haven't had TV for over 2 years in an attempt to save. I'm kind of thinking I'd like to get a TV now. I don't want to go hog wild spending now that I'm done my goal, but I'd like to lighten up with the no, no, no to everything a little bit.

Any suggestions from those of you currently working toward paying your mortgage off early or those who have already done so would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your ideas!

Gardenarian
6-19-12, 8:27pm
Quick question - is the interest on your student loan higher than your mortgage? If so, I would concentrate on paying that off first.

If you are happy with an old box-style TV (not HDTV flat panel) then you can easily pick one up for free. People are giving them away left and right. You may need a digital converter to get broadcast TV (we have not had regular TV in many years - just get DVDs from the library now and then.) A lot of people I know use their computer as their television (watching hulu, youtube - there's lots of stuff I'm not familiar with.)

lmerullo
6-19-12, 9:22pm