PDA

View Full Version : Solar panels

Florence
7-10-12, 1:34pm
Does anyone here actually have solar panels on your roof (or anywhere else)? I have Reliant Energy and they have a program in which you can lease the panels and they buy back from you the energy produced. I haven't even called them for information so I am just beginning to investigate the possibility. I was wondering if anyone here has done anything like this?

Gregg
7-12-12, 10:08am
My company works through programs similar to what your vendor is doing, only on the commercial side. By doing what they're doing they get to take advantage of the 30% Federal Tax Credit and any state, local and/or utility incentives that are available. Those incentives help keep the costs of the installation down. Without them there is almost nowhere in this country that solar would make any (economic) sense to install. The lease idea can work out pretty well if you really want solar, but don't want to fork out the cost of a system up front. If you can afford to buy it outright it will usually be a little bit better deal economically because you will qualify for all the same incentives, but the payoff is still way down the road. Probably over 10 years out and you do have that out of pocket expense. If you have any thoughts of moving any time soon or want to preserve your cash, but still want solar, its probably best to lease.

San Onofre Guy
7-12-12, 6:55pm
They don't make sense for me. My electric bill typically is in the range of $60-$70 per month. When it gets hot and we have to run the A/C which hasn't yet been needed this summer then for August and September it is $100. It would take a long time to pay off for me.

bae
7-12-12, 7:06pm
I can never get straight answers about the true lifecycle cost of solar panels.