PDA

View Full Version : Learning how to shop for groceries, build a pantry, make meals at home, eat better

Tiffany
7-12-12, 3:08pm
Ok, so I technically know how to do all of these things. But I want to develop my skills so that we waste less money and food and cut down on our meals out. Right now, I feel pulled in several different directions when I think of our home food system.

My goals:

1. Stock the pantry and freezer.
2. Eat 90% of our meals at home.
3. Learn about local producers
4. Buy organic and non-factory farmed as much as possible
5. Budget: $400 (two adults and one nursling learning to eat)
6. Increase our fruit and veggie intake, decrease grains/flours/potatoes.

I generally make a dinner menu and shop once a week. I am not good about planning for lunches. I am also not so great about following through with making the dinners, because I am still learning how to juggle baby care and anything else.

My first step is going to be observation. I am going to plan out my menus for the next week for 90% of meals and snacks. I will make a list of the pantry and freezer items that I buy. I will stay within my budget. I will write down the reason why we chose not to eat at home if we bought food out. That is my plan for the rest of the month.

Suggestions for easy, healthy lunches? Comments?

treehugger
7-12-12, 3:47pm
I think your approach of observation as your first step to see how your family really eats and makes decisions from day to day is a very smart one. No sense in deciding on a plan if it doesn't even make sense for you. And remember, with all of your (very worthy) goals, baby steps are the way to go.