PDA

View Full Version : Allen, Tx builds 60 million dollar high school football stadium

CathyA
9-1-12, 7:06pm
These students better all be A students and have absolutely everything they need academically available to them!

peggy
9-1-12, 10:01pm
I'm not surprised. As a Texan, i know just how important football is these these folks. It IS a religion.

bunnys
9-2-12, 8:43am
Just watched an article on the NBC Nightly News on this. Interestingly, not one single person they interviewed had anything but a glowing review of the decision to spend 60M of taxpayer money on this.

If football is indeed a "religion" the government has NO PLACE subsidizing the building of a temple for congregants to worship on approximately 10 Friday nights per year.

The article said they will never sell enough 10-dollar tickets to recoup the money it cost to build this monstrosity.

I am a teacher and I think this kind of waste is literally immoral. As the funds were raised through government bonds, I wouldn't move if something like that were built in my town, I would be disgusted. I'm incensed by this and I don't live anywhere near Texas.

What an embarrassing indictment of skewed priorities.

Miss Cellane
9-2-12, 8:46am
These students better all be A students and have absolutely everything they need academically available to them!

And the teachers shouldn't have to spend a single cent of their own money on classroom supplies, tissues, books or other materials. Nor should parents have to buy any back to school supplies.

bunnys
9-2-12, 8:59am
http://www.allenisd.org/cms/lib/TX01001197/Centricity/Domain/27/Teacher%20Hiring%20Scale%202012.2013.pdf

Salaries are not exactly anything these teachers can count on to get rich, either. After your first year teaching in Allen, Texas, you get a big $75. raise!