PDA

View Full Version : Homemade laundry detergent question?

Tussiemussies
9-21-12, 1:15am
Just wondering if anyone has figured this out -- is the recipe for homemade laundry detergent made with Fels Naptha a low phosphate laundry detergent?

Thanks!:)

BayouGirl
9-21-12, 1:39am
I am just getting into the homemade laundry detergent but from what I understand from this link has a recipe using Fels Naptha and says it is phosphate free.
Making Phosphate-Free Detergent

Use a food processor with a shredding attachment to grate a bar of soap. Most people who make their own laundry detergent (http://www.ehow.com/way_5809392_diy-phosphate_free-detergent.html#) prefer to use Fels Naptha soap, but you can also use Zote or a bar of Ivory soap. Once the soap has been grated, add boric acid and washing soda (which is not the same as baking soda) and blend them well using a food processor blade.

Read more: DIY Phosphate-Free Detergent | eHow.com (http://www.ehow.com/way_5809392_diy-phosphate_free-detergent.html#ixzz2750Ox3mF) http://www.ehow.com/way_5809392_diy-phosphate_free-detergent.html#ixzz2750Ox3mF

http://www.ehow.com/way_5809392_diy-phosphate_free-detergent.html

Tussiemussies
9-21-12, 1:41am
Thanks bayouGirl for the information!:)

razz
9-21-12, 8:49am
I have often wondered about the difference between borax and washing soda and found this website that clarifies it quite well.
http://www.ehow.com/about_5498702_borax-vs-washing-soda.html
The links shown in earlier posts talk about boric acid but it is my understanding that they mean borax powder. Wonder why they use the words boric acid?

ToomuchStuff
9-22-12, 10:41am
Anyone do this, without a food processor? (other methods for an item I don't have, since this would probably be its only use)

Tussiemussies
9-22-12, 8:49pm
Used to grate the soap with a food processor but The top of it broke and I think that may have part of the reason... : )

BayouGirl
9-22-12, 9:41pm