PDA

View Full Version : At Customs Experience

Cypress
10-25-12, 11:19am
I am studying Conversational Italian and have been asked to describe an experience At Customs in Italian language. As I have never travelled abroad or been through customs, I cannot write a realistic description of an event. My three cues for discussion include, Customs, Excuse Me, and Export.

Can anyone tell a brief, simple story of being in customs and what happened. The experience need not have been in Italy.

Grazie

iris lily
10-25-12, 11:34am
The friendly beagles in the Department of Agriculture caused me to get pulled out of line in a U.S. airport (Boston?) coming back from Europe. The dogs, with their handlers, were roaming up and down the line of people, as is common, and one dog focused on my bag. They asked me to step aside and they rummaged through my bag and found a half-eaten sandwich with some meat still left. I had forgotten about it. I liked the dogs.

I later read that Customs uses beagles because people are not afraid of beagles. They could use other dogs such as German Shepards but they would scare some people.

Tweety
10-25-12, 9:00pm
I love the customs beagles! They wear little uniforms.

lhamo
10-25-12, 11:42pm