PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Helpful information: new substanable homestead project

bethssammy
12-2-12, 5:41pm
Hi, I joined this forum after reading some article online and it stating this is a good place to get information for a project my partner and I want to start.

I am a full time student, mom, and work, while my partner is pretty much a full time caregiver to my son whom has disabilities. For the better part of the past year we have been saying to each other we want to live on a little farm. :) We had a little veggie garden in our apartment, had a compost bin, and spent good amount of money to make our apartment as sustainable as possible. Then last winter right after Christmas we were kicked out of apartment with no real reason. So we moved into the first place that we could get that had a little yard in a rush. We were only going to spend 6 months here, and since we pretty much had to leave behind all of our garden, soils, hard work etc. we did not plan to start over that much at our new place.

So this summer we did weekly farmers market shopping instead of our own garden which really only had strawberrys and peppers. But had to re-sign the lease for another year (this comming summer). We were thinking about restarting our garden, but never did. And now we dont want to stay here... because it costs to much and they put up a new fence in our yard that overtakes the area for our garden.:( Now between the 4 people that live in our house someone has a food allergy to something, but we have little waste because our pet rats end up eating left overs.