PDA

View Full Version : A struggle of the heart...

MamaM
2-28-13, 10:31am
*THIS IS ONLY MY OWN STRUGGLE. No intention to offend ANYONE. I truly believe you are to live as you please."

What do you do when your beliefs (talking religious/spiritual) change and people won't let you be you?

I was raised Catholic and I did enjoy it for the most part but wandered away around 14-15 to explore a more spiritual side to life. I studied Buddhism, The Bible from a different point of view, Karma and life energy, etc...I then came back to the church, this time as a Born Again. I was feeling very lost and I felt happy but still not fulfilled and I would stand there thinking I am a bad person because I wasn't getting it. I walked this walk for many years but as of late, have been questioning a lot. I feel a little bit stifled and enclosed, too many rules and not enough people abiding by them. I have bounced around Churches and really have become disillusioned. I never felt right just going to Church once a week or celebrating on only a few days a year but instead believe in living a Christ-like or Spiritual life EVERYDAY. I feel very uncomfortable in any situation that is too one sided, no matter which way it bends. Trying to find that peaceful harmony. This way of thinking perplexes many I know. I do love Jesus but I also believe in karma and just trying to be a good person and spread a happy vibe. I have several people who take issue with this. They even take issue with the fact that I pray and meditate and practice yoga and a zen life. They say I am worshipping an idol and ignoring Jesus. I am really struggling with trying to reconcile this.

As y'all know, I am going through a lot right now. I am questioning everything, including my own beliefs. I don't think religion or spiritual or whatever one believes in is one size fits all. If anyone has some sage advice or has gone through, please let me know, even if you offline email me.

Xmac
2-28-13, 2:52pm
MamaM,