PDA

View Full Version : When you work hard and don't see any results.......

sylvia
5-22-13, 8:15pm
I am usually a happy person but today I kinda got side tracked. I've started a new job and had to use all paychecks to pay off debts and bills. I am glad to do that- however my job will be done for the summer. I am a school bus driver, I will have freedom along with the students, but no checks until Sept. I just feel all the hard work I always put into my daily life, I just don't see any big results, yet the effort is huge to get out of a rut. Today I thought-why bother? I am still in debt and a long way to go. I just wanted to have something to enjoy. Even though I am relieved to pay off certain big debts and money well spent in that department-I feel shortchanged because I wanted something enjoyable out of it( new floor in basement etc.). Next school year I will be paying off my cc's with every paycheck and maybe my car payments too. But that is a year away.....:(Until then.

SteveinMN
5-22-13, 8:36pm
Paying debts, I think, is like being on a diet. At some point you quit losing weight as you hit a plateau and all the stuff that worked for you before ... stops. Then, after some frustration and dismay, you start losing more weight even though you've really done nothing different.

One thing that really helps (me) in sticking to a diet is the ability to splurge occasionally. Sylvia, it's admirable that you've made significant progress on your debt, but it sounds like you're feeling a bit down because the results aren't very tangible. Maybe it's time to find at least a little money to spend on something you can see? If not now, then when you start collecting paychecks again this fall?

sylvia
5-22-13, 9:34pm