PDA

View Full Version : July "Finishing" Thread

AmeliaJane
7-8-13, 9:16am
Thought I would start this month's thread, since I have a big one to post, which will mean more to the computer-y folks:

I had been using Google Reader to read blogs for four years, starring (marking for later) thousands of posts--I am a recipe collector, plus, I collected a lot of work references. Google announced this spring they would be shutting down the Reader function. I discovered in mid-June, two weeks before shut-down, that the new blog reader I had picked would only import a thousand of these "star reminders." So I had to go through all of these posts and save them in a different way (I did manage to archive the last 850 to take care of after July 1). I finished last night! But the best part is that they are now organized in folders, so I know what I have and can find what I want, whereas before it took forever to find anything and I had forgotten a lot of what I had. I was able to weed out some duplicates, and links to blogs that no longer exist, and delete some that I'm not sure why I saved them in the first place. But the best part is that now, as I read new posts, I just automatically file them where they belong and I know what not to keep because I have it already (for some reason, I saved eight carrot soup recipes. That is probably enough for one lifetime.) So I should never be in this situation again.

I also finished a movie and two computer games over the long holiday weekend.

Gardenarian
7-9-13, 12:23pm
Hi!
My finishing is more like beginning - getting dd(14) signed up for all her activities in the fall. We home school, but she will start attending college part-time this year, as well as being involved in a myriad of other activities. So getting her schedule, car-pooling, registration and all set up is a big job, and I've just about got everything in place.