PDA

View Full Version : SnakeBlitz33's Journal

SnakeBlitz33
11-1-13, 11:18pm
Hello Guys and Gals,

I saw that there were a few "journals" on here in this forum and decided to try my hand at it. I already introduced myself, but I will go ahead and do the whole thing again. My name is Seth and I am in my mid-late 20's. I have been married for roughly eight years to Heather and I have a beautiful daughter named Emma. I am a full time college student, studying to be a Biology teacher. By the time I graduate, I will have been in school for roughly 9 years off and on!

I am a former live fish store owner, of retail and services. I worked many, countless hours at that job until I was hit hard by the economy in 2008 and had to close the doors for good. But, taking my experiences from them and building on them, I decided to get back into school and finish a degree. I don't honestly know why I want to teach - many people think that I am crazy for even attempting it. But, I like working with young people and I always enjoyed talking to my teachers as I grew up. I also am passionate about my subject matter - and love to share anything Biology related with people in general. My wife, for example, thinks it's so funny that I "play with the plants" beside my driveway when I get out of the car every day.

My wife is a first grade teacher, and so we thought that since we finally had a little money to play with, we should figure out ways to spend it. She bought a new car, we moved into a bigger place, we got new iPhones and paid more in electricity, water&sewer and all kinds of stuff. We were really back to square one: living paycheck to paycheck. I had a very expensive hobby - saltwater aquariums and freshwater planted tanks. I spent about every penny I earned trying to keep the next level of funky coral or plant alive and thriving. I was also working two jobs and barely had any family time between school, work, and maintaining the tanks. Yes, tanks.