Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Life Hack for a Mean Boss

Life Hack for a Mean Boss

I have a mean boss. What I hate most are the little "scolding" emails and comments whenever there is something that isn't done perfectly. Don't think I don't keep track of every one, because it is possible it could get to the point of abuse, but so far it's not quite at the level that it would be worth it for me to go that route.

SOOO...I've come up with a life hack for the little scoldings this person dishes out. When I get to 3 (starting just from Sept. 1st of this year), I get a treat for myself. Not sure what the treat will be, but it will be something I really like doing.

Do ya'll have any life hacks for mean bosses? Just FYI, I am a professional of 20+ years experience, two advanced degrees, career awards from international organizations, significant accomplishments, and many accolades from colleagues and clients, so it's not like I'm a screw-up on the job. NOT that even "screw-ups" deserve to be scolded and belittled!

TxZen
    I always think that my mean boss has to eventually deal with herself or her family or someone who is going to slap her one day. : )

I kept a Wicked Witch of the West on my desk in honor of her. She never understood what it was for but loved to play the song. HA!!

OP - great attitude!

Forward all the abusive emails to your home computer. Copy to DropBox and/or flash drive.

If boss ever accuses you of anything, you have years of proof to show boss's boss.

hmm, I like the idea. You are accepting that you can't change the behavior of your boss. You know that it isn't about you. But it still really causes stress.

Here are a couple of my ideas, maybe they will inspire you
    * creative splurge, take $10 and go to goodwill or a craft store and buy whatever inspires you
    * a massage, or pedicure
    * coffee shop visit. I just love the introvert companionship of having tea around other humans