Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Do you get a newspaper?

Do you get a newspaper?

Since I lost my hearing and can't listen to the radio I find that I am really falling behind on current events. The newspaper where we currently live is awful, but I'm looking forward to getting a daily newspaper when we move to Ashland. It seems to cover both local and world events really well.

I've tried keeping up using online sources, but it's just not cutting it.

One thing about people who have the TV on a lot, they really keep up with the news.
    "All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.” -- Gandalf

We don't get the daily "rag" here either (it's a complete waste of money), and I get obituaries and local news, and some state/national news from the on-line source for two of our local radio stations.

I have a digital subscription to the Chicago Tribune, but I often buy the Daily Herald, which is our very good suburban paper. I like actually reading the paper paper, not just the digital edition, but it's nice to not have to deal with all the papers.

I never watch tv and only listen to the radio intermittently when driving. I find the news to be highly stressful most of the time, largely because of the sensationlist way it is presented. I skim headlines online, take a closer look at what is important or interesting. That's enough for me. If anything important happens, I'll know about it... and odds are, important or not, I can't do much about what's happening anyway.

monday to Saturday we have The Daily Telegraph and The Scotsman delivered. Sundays we read The Sunday Times.

Quote Originally Posted by Rosemary View Post