Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Engineer or Office Boy....?

Engineer or Office Boy....?

Here is a workplace situation I've recently become cognizant of, based on two cases in particular, and also a general sense of how perversely things usually play out. Okay, here's my littlebittytheory: Let's say you have a pretty good-sized manufacturing company, okay? So,let's say it is on a grand enough scale that the company employs an "Engineering Staff", okay? These are typically college boys, who prefer office work--filling out forms, paper shuffles, and sitting through meetings to take up their time. They like staying nice and clean, and not getting dirty & sweaty on the job. Plus, they have a sense of entitlement because they have been taught that "after all, I have a college degree, and I am WORTH more". See? Okay, the typical manufacturing operation has office boys aka college-educated kids who really aren't all that handy. They're accustomed to buying new stuff, that doesn't need any work, so that they can spend their leisure time enjoying "the finer things in life". IOW, catering to their wife and kids. See? Their background consists of on-the-job office work. But, they are an "Electrical Engineer" or a "Mechanical Engineer". But, at home, their wife hires an electrician to change a light bulb, or take their nice, clean, new, safe, nice, clean, new car in to an official authorized service center to have factory-trained technicians(grease monkeys with no degree) put air in the tires. After all, besides wanting to avoid the hassle, and wanting it "done right", Mr Engineer and his wife have more important things to do---tickets to the Ballet, for instance. Golfing. Stupid stuff like that. Anyway, I noticed that several of these "engineers" in my typical case studies held multiple patents! They were not major advances in technology, but rather minor but useful improvements in manufacturing processes. More specifically, the patent really described a technique that was s