Thread: Good Day to you all!

Good Day to you all!

Hi Everyone!

My name is Julia, I am a 26 year old Canadian currently living in London. I am rather new to but very interested in the concept of simplicity in living, how it shapes community and how it impacts the way we see and value life.

In the interest of full disclosure, I thought that this space would be the best place to explain myself, and possibly gain some assistance. I am currently a Masters student at the London College of Fashion, and am in the process of completing my dissertation. In my research I am specifically looking at how perceptions of authenticity play a role in they way people construct their identity, and how they see sustainable fashion. As part of this I am looking to do some in-depth interviews with people who follow lifestyles of voluntary simplicity, to gain insight on their perspective into the subject.

If this sounds at all interesting to you (or you know someone who you think might be interested), I would love to connect with you and arrange an interview. You don't have to know anything at all about fashion, and although London locals would be preferred I am willing to travel.
    If you have any questions or interest at all, feel free to sent me a message.

Thanks so much for your time, and I look forward to hearing from you!

Cheers,
    Julia

Julia, while I admire the effort that you are making, the question that you have posed is, IMHO, so vague that it will be difficult to answer. I studied Cultural Studies at one point and did a paper on fashion visiting the Victoria and Albert Museum later to my great delight. I focused on the Romantic Period in my paper.

You will encounter huge variances in simple living due to generational eras, geography, materials, culture, age, $$$ and so on.

It sounds interesting, but I'm not sure how many people you'll get in the London area. We certainly have international members, but primarily North Americans.