Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Free job perks

Free job perks

I am particularly interested in "types" of jobs, and actual jobs that forum members have or have had recently, that have free valuable perks. Volunteer minimum wage jobs included.

Quote Originally Posted by Packratona! View Post
    I am particularly interested in "types" of jobs, and actual jobs that forum members have or have had recently, that have free valuable perks. Volunteer minimum wage jobs included.
    I get free parking and free university tuition through the doctoral level (if I were insane enough to do that). I am a researcher at a university.

I used to work for a labor union as a researcher. I got all my food for free up to $35 a day M-F. Restaurants, groceries, Quicky Marts, etc.

I get:

- free/reduced health club membership, & access to workout equipment/training on-the-job
    - *lots* of free medical monitoring/care - bloodwork, cardiac/respiratory testing, ...
    - free/reduced-cost food at work - breakfast/lunch/dinner
    - free room a couple of nights a week if I wish to stay at the station. I could live at the station if I committed to covering a certain number of scheduled shifts a week.
    - health/wellness consulting

Work from home and flexible work hours were my biggest. Also companies paying for education, especially if you can potentially use it elsewhere is really nice.

Williamsmith
    I get free golf. Golf is an expensive game.

If we get medical care where I work, they don't bill me or my husband for any copays.

Quote Originally Posted by UltraliteAngler View Post
    I used to work for a labor union as a researcher. I got all my food for free up to $35 a day M-F. Restaurants, groceries, Quicky Marts, etc.
    why are companies doing that? 35 bucks a day is a lot, they could offer better benefits instead.

I knew it was like this in the tech world but had no idea it happened at many other jobs