Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How secure do you see airports as being?

Senior Member gimmethesimplelife's Avatar

How secure do you see airports as being?

After the shooting event (is that what you call it these days?) at the airport in Fort Lauderdale, Florida today, i am just wondering how secure you'all perceive airports to be? Realistically, due to the very nature of travel itself, can much be done to make airports safer? I don't know as I am no security expert but I just wonder what others here think. Rob
    Last edited by gimmethesimplelife; 1-7-17 at 7:56pm.

Just think about it for a minute. If the security zone was around the building, you would still be in as much (minimal) danger outside the building as in the baggage claim area. What about preTSA area in the arrivals. Someone could do the same thing there. If you wanted the whole property to be safe, what about malls, schools, etc. all who have had this type of violence. Only ultimate solution is to ban and destroy all guns. You would still have danger from things like knives, poisonings, cars, etc.

Life is not 100% safe. Millions of people travel safely every month.

ps: I have a good friend on a plane on the runway at Ft. Lauderdale. If she had landed just minutes earlier?

Airports bother me a bit Because large portions of them require you to cluster together in crowds with restricted ability to move and react (TSA lines, for instance), and you are not permitted to be reasonably-armed in big parts of airports. And the security is pure theater. It makes airports an attractive target for Bad People because of this, more so when you consider the terror angle from disrupting transportation systems.

One bad actor with an explosive device or nasty hazmat concoction could cause huge havoc in those crowded spaces.